Metro handbrake cables.

Please use this forum to detail how to do various tricky jobs on your Midas.
Your endeavours may help others following your path in the future. Tip.... Photos/Pictures speak a thousand words. Midas related FAQs are also in here.

Moderator: The Midas Forum Staff

Metro handbrake cables.

Postby Stuart » Tue Sep 29, 2015 1:02 pm

Midas cars had a new hole drilled into the subframe for the handbrake guide cable to the nearside and then used a special short handbrake cable

Picture 9.JPG
Picture 9.JPG (99.85 KiB) Viewed 3242 times


I think a standard cable will work with a single neat coil in the cable.

That looks just right to accommodate the corresponding Metro handbrake cable. Also allowing the handbrake lever to be moved backwards, in turn allowing the repositioning of the gear lever back a bit too.
Attachments
handbrake cable 001.jpg
handbrake cable 001.jpg (877.06 KiB) Viewed 3242 times
User avatar
Stuart
 
Posts: 1643
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 8:29 pm
Location: Derbyshire

Re: Metro handbrake cables.

Postby Stuart » Thu Oct 01, 2015 2:28 pm

I must remember to make provision for something better than cable ties to hold the handbrake cable in place on the radius arms.

Of note is the weight of the handbrake cable compared to the Mini arrangement.
User avatar
Stuart
 
Posts: 1643
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 8:29 pm
Location: Derbyshire

Re: Metro handbrake cables.

Postby Stuart » Sat Oct 03, 2015 4:33 pm

If you lose the two spacers behind the standard handbrake cable hub bracket these M8 6.3mm x 20mm spacers fit perfectly. The originals are 17 mm in diameter. and those bolts can be a right pig to get out as I've just found.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/291169910104

Of note also is just how much rust fell out from the open cavity of the radius arm whilst whilst I battled to free the bolt.
User avatar
Stuart
 
Posts: 1643
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 8:29 pm
Location: Derbyshire

Re: Metro handbrake cables.

Postby fozzza » Fri Feb 17, 2017 1:51 pm

Is it still possible to obtain a modified Metro hand brake cable for the MK3 or do most owners try and use the standard cable. :?:
Roy
User avatar
fozzza
 
Posts: 198
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 5:25 pm
Location: Wolverhampton, West Midlands


Return to How to Guides & Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests